D-Link Router Jacked Up?

So, I got in a hurry tonight.

I told myself to wait until after I returned home to try anything on my router. Maybe it’s a good thing that I don’t listen to these voices in my head. 🙂

Regardless, I wish I had listened to that sage advice; but, of course, I didn’t.

The newest version of the firmware for my router came bundled in a ZIP-file. As stated before, I found myself in a hurry, and instead of extracting the ZIP-file first I uploaded that file as the new version of the firmware. Ka-boom!

After piddling around for two hours, I’m finally back on track. If you find yourself with a corrupt or incorrect version of firmware, tried the 30-30-30 reset method to no avail, and you have a D-Link router; try this:

Unplug the router. Find the RESET button on the back. Press and hold the RESET button and while doing so, power on the router again, and continue holding the RESET button for 10 seconds.  After 10 seconds, release the button and wait until the router restarts.

Not that it will work just as flawlessly as it did for me, but God helped me find this trick, so I thought I would pay it forward.

Happy networking!

–the civil commentator

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

